Press Releases

Graves on SBIR Markup: Reauthorization Bill Strengthens Programs and Will Help Create More Jobs

f t # e
Washington, May 11, 2011 | DJ Jordan, Wendy Knox (202.225.5821) | comments

WASHINGTON— House Small Business Committee Chairman Sam Graves (R-MO) today held a full Committee markup of the Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) and Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR) reauthorization bill. The Creating Jobs Through Small Business Innovation Act of 2011 (H.R. 1425) would reauthorize the SBIR and STTR programs for three years, increase Phase I and Phase II award sizes for both programs, and allow for greater participation of small companies in the programs regardless of their financial structure—at no additional cost to American taxpayers.

“SBIR has already proved successful, and our changes to the reauthorization bill only strengthen these programs so more jobs will be created and more innovative products commercialized,” said Chairman Graves. “SBIR is another avenue to assist small business owners and spark economic growth, and we should not delay in reauthorizing it.”

The reauthorization bill was 
introduced by House Small Business Subcommittee on Healthcare and Technology Chairwoman Renee Ellmers (R-NC) in April. Ellmers also penned an op-ed today on the SBIR program.

Chairwoman Ellmers said, “Today we’re one step closer to reauthorizing this essential small business program that will help spur economic growth and create jobs— without any additional taxpayer dollars. This bi-partisan legislation is a win-win for our economy and our best job creators— small businesses. I look forward to reaching an agreement with the Senate so we can get this to the President’s desk as soon as possible.” 

To view Chairman Graves opening statement and related markup documents, click

The original co-sponsors for this bill are Rep. Sam Graves (R-MO), Chairman of the Small Business Committee; Rep. Cedric Richmond (D-LA), Ranking Member of the Small Business Subcommittee on Healthcare and Technology; Rep. Ralph Hall (R-TX), Chairman of the Committee on Science, Space and Technology; Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX), Ranking Member of the Committee on Science, Space and Technology; Rep. Ben Quayle (R-AZ), Chairman of the Science, Space and Technology Subcommittee on Technology & Innovation; and Rep. Jason Altmire (D-PA), Ranking Member of the Small Business Subcommittee on Investigations, Oversight and Regulations.

f t # e